Resources

 

resources

Evanston CASE “Parent-Endorsed” Resources

The resources on this list are not endorsed by Evanston CASE, Inc., but rather are compiled from the thoughtful recommendations of our parents. Please note that everyone has different experiences. The resource providers on this list may not be best for your individual child. Resources are being updated all the time.  Check back or contact us if you don’t find what you are looking for.

Autism Treatment / Services

Pediatric Developmental Center, http://www.advocatehealth.com/immc-pediatricdevelopmentalcenter

Have Dreams http://havedreams.org/

Autism Family Center http://www.autismfamilycenter.com/

Pediatric Developmental Center. http://www.advocatehealth.com/immc-pediatricdevelopmentalcenter

BCBA (Board Certified Behavioral Analyst)

Jim Kling, Alternative Teaching, https://alternativeteaching.org/

Gwen Fiske, Mason Intervention, https://masonintervention.com/

AFG Guidance Center.  Offers Neurobehavioral Therapy.  http://afgfamily.com/services/

Chiropractors

Chiropractic First,  http://www.chiropractic1st.com/

Developmental Pediatricians/Pediatricians

Dr. Peter Smith, Univ of Chicago, https://pediatrics.uchicago.edu/page/peter-joseph-smith-md

Dr. Evora Brent 1000 Central Street, Evanston, http://www.northshore.org/apps/findadoctor/physicians/evora-brent

Dr. Sarah Bauer, Lurie Children’s Hospital, https://www.luriechildrens.org/en-us/care-services/find-a-doctor/Pages/Bauer_Sarah_3107.aspx

Dr. Cesar Ochoa, Rush University Medical Center http://doctors.rush.edu/details/1693

Dr. Cathy DiVincenzo, KidsFirst Pediatric Partners. http://www.kidsfirstpediatricpartners.com/staff/cathy-divincenzo-md/

Dr. Alan Rosenblatt, http://www.doctorrosenblatt.com/index.html

Driver’s Education

NorthShore University Health System, Rehab Services/Outpatient Occupational Therapy 847-570-1260

Educational Consultants / Post High School Transition Specialists 

Jordan and Jill Burstein, JJB Educational Consulting, Inc. http://www.jjb-edconsultants.com/

Karen Mabie, Therapeutic Educational Consultant, The School Solution. https://theschoolsolution.com/about/

Educational Therapists

James Bendorf, M.Ed.,  Make School Better  http://www.makeschoolbetter.com/james-bensdorf–m.ed..html

Susan Newman, M.A., ET/P, Learning How to Learn. 1960C Lincoln St, Evanston. (847) 869-6151

Executive Functioning Coaches

AFG Guidance Center.  ADHD coaching therapy.  http://afgfamily.com/services/

Beyond Booksmart.  Elementary through college age executive function coaching.  https://www.beyondbooksmart.com/

Learning Disabilities

Jordi Kleiner, Ph.D., ET/P, Northshore Learning Clinic http://northshorelearningclinic.com/about-north-shore-learning-clinic.php

Beyond Book Smart (Executive Function Skills) http://www.beyondbooksmart.com/

Life Skills / Post High School Transition

Center for Independent Futures http://www.independentfutures.com/

Neuropsychologists

Dr. Jeffrey O’Koon, O’Koon Psychology Group http://okoonpsychgroup.com/

Dr. Lori Tall, Rush Neurobehavioral Center,  4711 Golf Rd., Suite 1100, Skokie (847) 933-9339

Dr. Margot Touris, 910 Skokie Blvd. Suite 207b, Northbrook, (847) 564-3443

Dr. Warren Rosen, PhD. http://www.warrendrosenphd.com/

Dr. Peter Rastrelli, PhD. Psychoeducational Resource Services. http://prsinfo.net/about-us/dr-peter-rastrelli/

Dr. Heidi Hamernik, PhD, P.C. http://www.heidihamernikphd.com/

Dr. Marjorie Getz, Educational Consulting and Evaluation (ECES), Advocate Children’s Hospital. http://www.advocatechildrenshospital.com/ach-educational-consulting-and-evaluation

Dr. Katherine Holt, PsyD. Gersten Center Behavioral Health http://www.gerstencenter.com/

OT / PT / Speech

Beth Osten and Associates, http://home.bethosten.com

Wee Speech, Lisa Barich, PT; Julie Levin, SLP; Laura Drower, SLP   http://www.weespeech.com/

North Shore Pediatric Therapy http://nspt4kids.com/

Center for Audiology, Speech. Language and Communication, Northwestern University (Bilingual, also recommended for wide-ranging evaluations) https://www.communication.northwestern.edu/clinic

Comprehensive SLP, http://comprehensiveslp.com/mara-h-lane-m-s-cccslp/

Timber Ridge Pediatric Therapy. Laura Goltz, OT; Maria Koumantos, OT. http://timberridgetherapy.com/wp/

Gloria Levin and Mara Levin, OT’s trained in Floor Time: Gloria Levin & Associates, (847) 251-1717

Sweeney, Augustine, and Associates, SLP

Pediatric Neuro-Ophthalmologists/Ophthalmologists 

Dr. Marylin Mets, Lurie Children’s Hospital, https://www.luriechildrens.org/en-us/care-services/find-a-doctor/Pages/Mets_Marilyn_1815.aspx

Dr. Deborah Fishman, Ophthalmologist, Pediatric Eye Associates. http://pediatriceyeassociates.weebly.com/

Psychiatrists — Child and Adolescent

 

Dr. Scott Feldman.  1840 Oak Ave. Ste 203N, Evanston.  773-343-5437 (Takes insurance)

Dr. Mandy Evans, Northshore Univ. Health, http://www.northshore.org/apps/findadoctor/physicians/mandy-l.-evans

Dr. Alfreda Grosrenaud, AFG Guidance Center, http://afgfamily.com/about-us/clinicians/

Dr. Miroslaw Walo, Advocate Health, Skokie, http://doctors.advocatehealth.com/i/miroslaw-walo-skokie-psychiatry

Dr. Neil Fialkow https://www.healthgrades.com/physician/dr-neil-fialkow-ykxh3

Dr. Gaebler-Spira, Rehab Institute of Chicago. http://www.ric.org/about/people/doctors/detail/deborah-j-gaebler-spira-md/

Recreation/Adaptive Sports/Arts

Rehab Institute of Chicago, Caring for Kids Program, http://www.ric.org/services/sports-and-fitness/sports-programs/caring-for-kids/

Institute for Therapy Through the Arts. https://itachicago.org/

Chicago Children’s Theatre, Red Kite Project. http://chicagochildrenstheatre.org/red-kite-project/

Horsefeathers Therapeutic Riding Center. Hippotherapy. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mrDZVsHGI-I&feature=youtu.be

Social Skills

Chava Alpert, MSW, LCSW. Social Endeavors http://socialendeavors.net/

Mara Lane, M.S., CCC/SLP, Comprehensive SLP, (social thinking/pragmatic language group therapy) http://comprehensiveslp.com/mara-h-lane-m-s-cccslp/

Special Education Attorneys

Moran Center for Youth Advocacy (pro bono legal services) http://moran-center.org/

Equip for Equality (pro bono legal / advocacy services) http://www.equipforequality.org/

Micki Moran, The Child and Family Law Center http://www.lawforchild.com/

Charlie Fox, The Law Offices of Charles P. Fox http://foxspecialedlaw.com/

Matt Cohen and Associates http://www.mattcohenandassociates.com/

Deborah Pergament, Children’s Law Group: http://childrenslawgroup.com/

Swimming Lessons

All-in-Swim, https://www.jccchicago.org/programs/aquatics-sports/aquatics/lenny-krazelburg-swim-academy-asd/

Wildkit Swimming, Learn to Swim program. https://wildkitaquatics.com/main/LearnToSwim

Goldfish Swim School, Evanston. https://evanston.goldfishswimschool.com/

Therapists / Counseling / Mental Health / Social Work / Psychologists

Alissa Levy-Chung, PhD. Clinical psychologist, advocate. http://www.alissalevychung.com/

Theresa Herring, MS, AMFT. Centered Connections. Marriage and family therapy. http://centeredconnections.com/

Rick Simon, M.Ed., LCPC, http://rscounsels.com/

Susan Sholtes, LCSW (recommended for young children) Sholtes & Assoc., Ltd. http://www.sholtesandassociates.com/

Cognitive Solutions Learning Center (Therapy for ADD/ADHD, LD, anxiety, depression and PTSD) http://www.helpforld.com/therapy-learning-disabilities/

Psychoeducational Resources Center, 5225 Old Orchard Road, Skokie http://prsinfo.net/

The Josselyn Center, (mental and behavioral health services) http://www.josselyn.org/home/

Bridges Program, Northshore University Health http://www.northshore.org/psychiatry-behavioral-sciences/clinical-services/bridges-program/

Rebecca Keiffer, LCSW, North Shore Pediatric Therapy. http://nspt4kids.com/author/rebecca-kieffer/

Chava Alpert, MSW, LCSW. Social Endeavors. (social work/ behavior therapy) http://socialendeavors.net/

Katherine Holt, PsyD, Gersten Center for Behavioral Health. http://www.gerstencenter.com/meet-our-team#psychologists

Marge Morris (In-home therapy) margemorris@comcast.net, (847) 864-4919.

Liz Hletko, PsyD. (anxiety, OCD and tic disorders) Cognitive Behavioral therapy. Evanston, IL  (312) 756-0162

Therapeutic/Residential Placement Consultants

Karen Mabie, NCSP, CEP School Consultation Services, LLC. https://theschoolsolution.com/

Tutors

Anissa Upshaw, MBA, MAT, WDP, private tutoring.  Certified in Wilson Reading System. marketlinkz@yahoo.com. (630) 207-9291.

Tim Bridgman, Banner Literacy. http://www.bannerliteracy.com/

Tracy Loland, teacher and LCSW. https://www.tracyloland.com/

Kaitlin Feriante, Wilson tutor. kait@redwoodliteracy.com

Debbie Azen certified Slant tutor. http://slantsystem.com/yahoo_site_admin/assets/docs/Materials_Brochure_2012_web.254133819.pdf

Adria Leno SLP and certified Spell-Links tutor. Communicate and Connect Therapy: 312-208-8266

James Bendorf, M.Ed.,  Make School Better  http://www.makeschoolbetter.com/james-bensdorf–m.ed..html

Dale Davison.  Executive Function Coach.   http://www.dale@dale-davison.com